Student Chapters

Student chapters exist to promote the study of wood science and technology among undergraduate and graduate students.

Example student chapter constitutions:

From the SWST Constitution

Article XII -- Chapters

  • Section 1. The establishment of local chapters of the Society is encouraged in order to assist the parent organization to further the purpose and objectives embodied in Article II.
  • Section 2. Any group of fully accredited members can form a chapter of the Society upon approval of the Executive Board.
  • Section 3. A chair, elected for 1 year, shall head each chapter. Other officers may be elected if the chapter members so desire.
  • Section 4. Chapters shall not make statements of policy. This right is reserved for the parent organization. They shall, however, be empowered to recommend policy to the Executive Board
From the SWST Bylaws

IX. Chapters

  1. In the formation of a chapter, the membership of the potential chapter shall petition the Executive Board through the executive director. The petition shall state the name, geographic area, and approximate membership of the proposed chapter.
  2. Meetings
    1. At least two meetings shall be held annually.
    2. A report of each meeting, including a resume of the proceedings, shall be forwarded by the chair to the executive director.
  3. Student members are expected to participate in the activities of the chapter.
  4. The chapters are encouraged to interest the local public and prospective college students in the affairs of the Society of Wood Science and Technology.
  5. No dues are to be collected by the chapters.


Auburn University    
Clemson University    
Iowa State University    
Louisiana State University    
Michigan State University    
Michigan Technological University    
Mississippi State University yes no
North Carolina State University    
Oregon State University yes  
Pennsylvania State University    
Purdue University    
Southern Illinois University    
State University of New York    
Universidad del Bío Bío (Concepción, Chile)    
Universit√© Laval (Canada)    
University of British Columbia (Canada)    
University of Georgia    
University of Idaho    
University of Illinois    
University of Kentucky    
University of Maine    
University of Massachusetts    
University of Minnesota    
University of Missouri    
University of New Brunswick (Canada)    
University of Tennessee    
University of Toronto (Canada)    
University of Washington    
University of Wisconsin - Madison    
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point    
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University    
Washington State University    
West Virginia University    


For further information, please contact Vicki Herian at vicki@swst.org

Last updated 5/31/12

Contact Us | All Rights Reserved | facebook
Copyright   © 2014, Society of Wood Science and Technology